KU Theatre

The King Stag

by Sylvia Ashby, based on Il Re Cervo by Carlo Gozzi

Directed by Dennis Christilles
Scenic Design by Erin Niedenthal
Lighting Design by Liz Banks
Costume Design by Tammy Keiser
Puppetry by Spencer Lott

The KU Theatre for Young People opens the season with this innovative fable the whole family will enjoy. A King, looking for a Queen for his kingdom, desires nothing more than a young lady who truly loves him. In his search, he depends on the uncanny ability of a magic statue to decipher a dishonest heart. When his jealous Prime Minister uses a magic spell to change the King into a stag and himself into the king, chaos breaks out in the kingdom until true love wins out and the story ends rightly with the King back in his body. Creative magic by student puppet master Spencer Lott provides the audience with humor and adventure and a message that no magic can replace the wisdom of honesty and love. The public performances follow performances September 22 – 26 for children from the Lawrence and Douglas County schools.

School reservation form (pdf) | School reservation form (MS Word)

The King Stag Teacher's Guide (pdf)


Cast Member

Professor Magico (Parrot) Julie Bayliff
Larissa Cassie Hollmann
Old Woman Lizzie Hartman
Mistress of Shadows Debbie Diesel
Briggi Rebecca Ralstin
Angelica Rochelle Herman
Emmi Brittany Barney
King Seren Logan Walker
Periglio Matthew Crooks
Leandro Adam Luttrell

Jake Smith

Truffles Robert Schulte
Kovar Garrett Lawson
Keno Jordan Gouge

Ticket Prices

  • Public: $10
  • Senior Citizens & KU Faculty/Staff: $9
  • All Students: $5
  • September 27, 2008 - 10:30 a.m. - Inge Theatre
  • September 28, 2008 - 2:30 p.m. - Inge Theatre

Costume Renderings by Tammy Keiser

The University of Kansas prohibits discrimination on the basis of race, color, ethnicity, religion, sex, national origin, age, ancestry, disability, status as a veteran, sexual orientation, marital status, parental status, gender identity, gender expression, and genetic information in the university’s programs and activities. Retaliation is also prohibited by university policy. The following persons have been designated to handle inquiries regarding the nondiscrimination policies and are the Title IX coordinators for their respective campuses: Executive Director of the Office of Institutional Opportunity & Access, IOA@ku.edu, 1246 West Campus Road, Room 153A, Lawrence, KS 66045, 785-864-6414, 711 TTY (for the Lawrence, Edwards, Parsons, Yoder, and Topeka campuses); Director, Equal Opportunity Office, Mail Stop 7004, 4330 Shawnee Mission Parkway, Fairway, KS 66205, 913-588-8011, 711 TTY (for the Wichita, Salina, and Kansas City, Kansas, medical center campuses).